The National SPM Bible Knowledge Quiz is an annual quiz organised by the Federation of Christian Mission Schools Malaysia. It is normally named after its edition and the year, for eg, 25th National SPM Bible Knowledge Quiz 2021 is named for the quiz held in 2021. The quiz is endorsed by Kementerian Pendidikan Malaysia.

Below are the rules and regulations for the quiz which may change over the years. For the latest information, do contact FCMSM (federationms@gmail.com)

1. Participation:

Open to form 3 to 5 students. Teams of 2. Please refer to the Regional Coordinator if you are the only candidate from your school.

2. Text:

The Gospel according to Luke, The Acts of the Apostles.

(Good News Bible Version, according to the syllabus for the SPM Bible Knowledge 9221 paper.)

3. Levels:

All teams must go through the Regional Level first before qualifying for the National Level.

4. Quiz Format:

Part 1

50 objective questions, answered individually, 40 minutes.

Maximum score: 100 marks (marks of both students are added together).

Part 2

10 short oral questions, team members can confer.

Maximum score: 40 marks

Part 3 (Semifinals)

6 longer oral questions (3 each from Luke and Acts), 5 marks each, team members cannot confer, team members take turns answering.

Maximum score: 30 marks

Total maximum score: 100 + 40 + 30 = 170 marks

Part 4 (Finals)

Top 5 teams from Semifinals enter the Finals.

Speed Round: 3 oral questions.

Maximum score: 15 marks

Context Round: 1 context question, conferring not allowed.

Maximum score: 10 marks

Total maximum score: 15 + 10 = 25 marks

5. Awards:

Certificates of participation for all participants.

5 top teams from each Regional Centre proceed to the National Level.

Trophies/Medals for top 5 National and State champions. National champions and runners-up also receive tuition fee waivers from Methodist College Kuala Lumpur for Cambridge A-level/AUSMAT/Diploma in Early Childhood Education/Certified Accounting Technician courses.

(A State trophy requires competition of a minimum of three teams from the State.)

6. Regional Centres:

a) Southern Regional (Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, Johor) – Venue: Melaka

b) Northern Regional (Penang, Kedah, Perak, Perlis, Trengganu, Kelantan) – Venue: Ipoh

c) Central Regional (KL, Selangor, Pahang) – Venue: KL/PJ

d) Sarawak – Miri Regional

e) Sarawak – Kuching Regional

f) Sabah – Venue: Kota Kinabalu

7. National Level:

Venue: KL/PJ

Tentative date: early August